Distance, going the distance

Distance is something that I have underestimated greatly. I guess you can say that it’s due to how my lifestyle is. Not that I did cross country or anything, not in a million years would I, but rather how I would reside. My parents have been split since I was little, so I always went back and forth between both houses. Pasadena to Rowland Heights, Diamond Bar to Fontana. what seems like a short drive to me appears long to my friends that drive. If anyone asked where I lived. they would always reply with, “Wow, that’s so far!” I would just shrug it off.

When I would travel, it still didn’t get to me, going to Florida seemed short, going Mexico isn’t even in my memory anymore. But when you want to see someone who is apart from you, it ends up being a completely different story. A city away seems like a tease, a few cities away seems painful, and anything greater than that is intolerable. My mind can’t even get a grip on how big this world is. At night when I look up at the stars, I feel so minute, like why does my life even matter, there is so much more out there that we don’t know about. We can’t even discover what is in our oceans! Sometimes I even mess around with Google maps, it’s crazy what is just a few miles away from you or how fast the environment changes.

When you live in a little place for so long, it’s almost as if your brain gets dumber and tells itself that what happens here is what happens everywhere. Or it’ll make vague accusations of other places, like when outsiders think the  only things in Cali are Hollywood signs or beaches, there’s a lot more than that. But when you travel, when you crawl out of the little box that you have been detained in, you get the big picture. Everything is different everywhere. Sports, activities, lifestyles, food, media. It’s actually fascinating how just in another state, not even a country, things are so different. I believe that the more you see, the more you’ll learn, and the more you will appreciate.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sociologysong
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 11:26:13

    Interesting blog! I absolutely agree with you about the limitations of California. Is this your “what is sociology” blog or just for fun? Can you please let me know who you are in class tomorrow so I can get you the points?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

