HI&CA: Prologue?

I’ve never been one to believe in long distance relationships. It was a joke to me, or a pathetic way for guys to feel good about themselves, because they could easily have two girlfriends at one time and boast about it. Never, in all my 18 years, did I everever, think I would be in one.

I guess, this could pass as a love story (still crossing my fingers for a happy ending, not that I want it to end), maybe Hollywood will take it and make it into a movie like The Vow. Who knows, but regardless or what will happen, this is an old story. It started years ago, during a summer, about two or three summers ago. I was about to go to Florida for a national soccer tournament for AYSO. I was super hyped up, being that I live in southern California, traveling across the country just to play soccer during July was an amazing dream come true. It was also an awakening.

Hey, I’m not going to be in California anymore, there’s a  whole other world out there. With this curiosity floating in my head, an old desire for a pen pal, and being fresh out of a year long relationship with my first serious boyfriend, I was set to find a new friend. Someone who isn’t from where I am. Well, no one really does mail anymore, so I went on my Myspace to start a search. I thought, where’s the coolest place ever? Hawaii. Duh. I only been longing to go there ever since I was a little girl. So I narrowed it down to Hawaii, and male, and thus my search began. I went of the profile pictures first. If they didn’t look appealing, onto the next. If one interested me, I’d look at their profile, to see what kind of person they generally say to be. I still remember; white tank top, a big smile, long black hair. I clicked on it, he seemed pretty chill. I read his stuff. It was his quote that snagged me up like a hook with the best bait to catch bass.

“Love is like a wave. You can’t control it or own it, and sometimes you don’t even see it coming. when you’re on it, you feel like you’re on top of the world, and when the ride is over all you can think about is getting back on it. Sometimes it lets you off easy, and other times you get dragged under. But in the end you just gotta go with the flow and see where that wave takes you.” – Jonah K. Baisa

Jonah Kaulanaokouioakalani Baisa. What a middle name. What a quote. Okay so how to make this the least creepiest. “Hi, I’m Tomiko, a weird stalker girl from California that wants your address so we can be pen pals.” No… That won’t work. However it exactly went, he handled it well.

Leave a Reply

